International Aura Estrada Prize for Literature


The International Aura Estrada Prize for Literature aims to contribute to the creation of literature produced by women, and also to honor the memory of the Mexican writer Aura Estrada, who unfortunately passed away in July 2007.

The prize is awarded every two years within the framework of the Oaxaca International Book Fair (FILO) to a writer aged 35 years or younger, who lives in Mexico, the United States or Canada, and writes in Spanish narrative prose. The prize consists of a stipend of $ 10,000, the opportunity to stay for periods of up to two months in each of the following creative residencies for writers: the UCross Foundation Residency Program in Wyoming, Omi International Residency at Ledig House in New York, the Santa Maddalena Fellowship for Writers in Tuscany (IT) and the Ex-Hacienda Guadalupe in Oaxaca; and the publication of the finished text, worked on during the residences, by Granta editorial in Spanish.


To date it has been awarded on six occasions to:


Susana Iglesias (2009)

María José Ramírez (2011)

Verónica Gerber Bicecci (2013)

Liliana Colanzi (2015)

Vanessa Londoño (2017)

Natalia Trigo (2019)




Privacy policy here